Share for friends:

R.F. Delderfield

R.F. Delderfield
Your rating
0 of 5 Votes: 1
Books: 10 | Review: 0 | Avg rating: 4.13

Books by R.F. Delderfield


Theirs Was the Kingdom (1999)

Sometimes if you're looking for an unexpected find, it pays to check out the 30 year old books your parents are giving to goodwill. Theirs was the Kingdom is book II in what is commonly called the "God is an Englishmen" trilogy. Book I is the story of a guy who quits the army to seek his fortune ...

Theirs Was the Kingdom (1999) by R.F. Delderfield

The Dreaming Suburb (1977)

A long-time favorite. The pair of books comprising "The Avenue" is the story of a British community, focusing on four of its families. THE DREAMING SUBURB runs from the end of WWI until Britain began to fight WWII. Delderfield had a wonderful ability to create humanity and endow them with engagin...

The Dreaming Suburb (1977) by R.F. Delderfield

The Avenue Goes to War (1976)

This is part two of "The Avenue"-- to be read after The Dreaming Suburb. I really enjoy the second part more because learning about what the English suffered and how they persevered against Hitler is amazing. There are lots of long political rants that are tedious but either side of those rants...

The Avenue Goes to War (1976) by R.F. Delderfield

God Is an Englishman (2006)

I’m not sure how I ended up with a copy of God Is An Englishman on my Kindle...I’d never heard of the book or the author, R.F. Delderfield. God Is An Englishman is the first in a trilogy and was published in 1970. The second book in the trilogy, Theirs was the Kingdom, was published the year of...

God Is an Englishman (2006) by R.F. Delderfield

To Serve Them All My Days (2006)

"...a book about a ... more modern England, an England emerging from the horrors and bloodshed of the 1914-18 war into the twenty years of change, upheaval and uneasy peace that ended with the Second World War."[The] hero is a schoolmaster, David Powlett-Jones, who survives the dreary carnage of ...

To Serve Them All My Days (2006) by R.F. Delderfield

Give Us This Day (2001)

Sad to finish this wonderful trilogy but it was also time to bring the family saga to a close. Wonderful sense of family and social evolution set in the onslaught of the industrial revolution with all of its accompanying displacement of ideas and mores. Delderfield does his historical homework ...

Give Us This Day (2001) by R.F. Delderfield

Long Summer Day (1995)

I was approached to review this book because I had read (and loved) Fall of Giants by Ken Follett. Are these two books similar? Well, they're both really long, and they tell a story of a period of a time rather than any one character.Long Summer's Day follows Paul Craddock, who, after an injury, ...

Long Summer Day (1995) by R.F. Delderfield

The Green Gauntlet (1995)

I was wishing this book would hurry up and end but now I'll miss my old friend Paul Craddock, a strong, honorable, simple man whom you could always count on. This last book of the trilogy spends a lot of time with the characters remembering things that happened in the previous two books which go...

The Green Gauntlet (1995) by R.F. Delderfield

Post of Honor (1978)

Whew, what a ride!"Post of Honor" is part two in the 'Horseman Riding By' trilogy (The first being "Long Summer Day"). It follows along perfectly from book one with no gap of time and minimal re-hashing.*So, where to start? In POH we have yet another epic, about 100 pages too long but once you've...

Post of Honor (1978) by R.F. Delderfield

Do You like author R.F. Delderfield?

Write Review

(Review will shown on site after approval)